North Shoebury, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Shoebury, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to North Shoebury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Shoebury, Essex
St Mary North Shoebury Essex .jpg
St Mary North Shoebury Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1680
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canewdon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

North Shoebury or Shoebury, North (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Rochford, it is 3¼ miles E N E from Southend. It is bounded on the south by the parish of South Shoebury.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Shoebury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
North Shoebury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.

Poor Law Unions>

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


North Shoebury on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,179 times.