Stoke Rochford, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Stoke Rochford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St+Andrew+and+St+Mary Stoke+Rochford Lincolnshire.JPG

Contents

Parish History

STOKE-SOUTH, a township and a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln. The township lies on the river Witham, 2 miles SSW of Great Ponton r. station, and 6 S of Grantham; is sometimes called Stoke-Rochford; and has a post-office, of that name, under Grantham. The parish contains also North Stoke and Easton townships. Stoke Rochford is part of the civil parish of Stoke Rochford and Easton.[1]

STOKE, SOUTH (St. Andrew and St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibriggs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Colsterworth.[2]

Additional information:

North Stoke and South with Easton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lincolnshire, created in 1776 from North Stoke Ancient Parish and South Stoke Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Easton

North Stoke a village referred to in the Domesday Book was cleared in 1841 to create the park at Stoke Rochford.

The ecclesiastical parish is known by the same name, and is part of The Colsterworth Group in the Deanery of Beltisloe, Diocese of Lincoln. The parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew and Saint Mary, and also serves as the parish church for Easton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Stoke Rochford Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Stoke, North and South withEaston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.


see Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Stoke/

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 May 2015, at 23:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,202 times.