North Tawton, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to North Tawton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|North Tawton, Devon|
|Hundred||North Taunton with Winkleigh|
|Poor Law Union||Okehampton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
TAWTON, NORTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of North Tawton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 12 miles (W. by N.) from Crediton. This place was anciently called Cheping-Tawton, "a market-town on the river Taw." The Independents have a meeting-house. Chapels formerly existed at CrookBurnell, Nichols-Nymet, and Bath-Barton, in the parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Plymouth Brethren
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241323.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
North Tawton on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 18 February 2015, at 16:14.
- This page has been accessed 748 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More