North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire|
North Wheatley St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1649|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WHEATLEY (North), is a parish, with a village, in East Retford district, Notts; 2 miles NW of Sturton r. station, and 5 NE of East Retford. It has a post-office under Retford. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
North Wheatley St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
The parish church of St Peter and St Paul North Wheatley has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also North Wheatley Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|North Wheatley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1649-1979 Marriages 1650-1912 Burials 1649-1983Bishop's Transcripts 1601-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wheatley, North
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 19 February 2015, at 20:21.
- This page has been accessed 980 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More