North Wingfield, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Wingfield, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to North Wingfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Wingfield, Derbyshire
North Wingfield - St Lawrence Church geograph org uk - 828285.jpg
North Wingfield - St Lawrence Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567; Separate registers exist for Clay Cross beginning 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office
"

Contents

Parish History

North Wingfield, St. Lawrence, is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire, union of Chesterfield. Other places in the parish include: Woodthorpe, Woodthorp, Tupton, Stretton, Clay Cross, Claycross, Pilsley near Chesterfield, Pilsley, Clay Lane, and Claylane. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Wingfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
North Wingfield St Lawrence or St Helen (1567) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1567-1883
  NONE
1567-1912
  NONE
1567-1912
  NONE

Danesmoor St Barnabas was originally a hamlet in this parish which was then included in Clay Cross when that parish was created in 1852. A chapel of ease was built in 1883 but no deposited registers are located.

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1669-1852 Mar 1669-1852 Burials 1669-1852

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.


Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

North Wingfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 613-618. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,856 times.