Northampton St Peter, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Northampton St Peter, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Northampton St Peter, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northampton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Northampton
Registration District Northampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Northampton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office


Parish History

NORTHAMPTON, a borough and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Spelhoe, S. division of the county of Northampton, of which it is the chief town, 66 miles (N. W. by N.) from London, on the road to Leicester. The borough comprises the parishes of All Saints, containing 7898; St. Giles, 3898; St. Peter, 1029; and St. Sepulchre, 6124 inhabitants: in the extra-parochial part of the town are 2293 inhabitants. There were formerly seven parochial churches within the walls and two without, of which only four are remaining. The parish of St. Giles comprises about 800 acres, of which 100 consist of meadow watered by the river Nene on the south.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Northampton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1866 1813-1866 1813-1866 1813-1866
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912
1655-1726, 1776-1812

FREG 1578-1812, 1861-1870

TGEN 1578-1812

Marriages from 1647 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438882.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,058 times.