Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Northamptonshire, England)

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire

Guide to Northamptonshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events
* Please add upcoming genealogical news and events
Key topics to get started:

Other topics:

Did You Know?
* Please add items of interest
How to edit this sidebar
'Northamptonshire, or Northampton, is an inland county located almost in the middle of 'England


Research Tools


Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Northamptonshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Northamptonshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Northamptonshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.


See the parishes of Northamptonshire. in February, 2015 published a database containing numerous Northamptonshire baptisms and burials from 1813-1912 available on their website. This collection consists of scanned and indexed images of parish registers and bishops transcripts. However, parish registers are not included for every parish in the county throughout the period and the practice of returning bishops transcripts declined in the latter part of the 19th century.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Northamptonshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Northamptonshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Northamptonshire Probate Records.


Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Northamptonshire


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 February 2015, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 10,656 times.