Norton, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Norton, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Guide to Norton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Malmesbury PLU
Registration District Malmesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTON-COLEPARLE (All Saints), a parish in Malmsbury district, in the county of Wiltshire (wilts), on Akeman-street. It is located in the union and hundred of Malmesbury, Malmesbury and Kingswood. It is 2¾ miles S of the boundary with Gloucestershire, and 4 SW of Malmsbury.[1][2]

NORTON-COLEPARLE is 7½ miles NW of Chippenham railway station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
NORTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1663-1812
1666-1900

JOIN
1666-1809

NIM 1606-1837
1606-1837
1606-1837
TGEN
1663-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464199.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Accessed and adapted 30 April 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,152 times.