Norton Cuckney, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to North Cuckney, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Norton Cuckney, Nottinghamshire
Norton Cuckney St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Norton Cuckney St Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Worksop
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

CUCKNEY, a village, a township, and a parish in Worksop district, Notts. The village stands 5½ miles S by W of Worksop r. station, and 8 N by E of Mansfield; has a post office under Mansfield. The township includes also the hamlets of Bonbusk and Milnthorpe. The parish contains likewise the townships of Norton, Holbeck, and Langwith; and bears the name of Norton-Cuckney.[1]

Additional information:

Norton Cuckney St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire which includes Holbeck, Langwith, Nether Langwith, Milnethorpe, Cuckney with Bonbusk and Milnethorpe, Norton, Bonbusk, Cuckney, and Milnthorpe within the extensive parish boundary. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Whitwell, Derbyshire Elmton with Cresswell, Derbyshire Bolsover, Derbyshire Scarcliffe, Derbyshire and Upper Langwith, Derbyshire

The Parish Church of St mary Norton Lane Cuckney has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Norton Wikipedia and Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742-746. here


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Norton Cuckney, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Norton Cuckney, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1632-1919 Marriages 1632-1901 Burials 1632-1900 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1839
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cuckney, Norton

Norton Cuckney - St Mary's.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions inside and outside the church, giving surname, given name, relationship, date of death, and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 89, pages 26-42, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Holbeck - St. Winifred's.  An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dated from 1904. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 78, pages 21-24, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.

See Nottinghamshire Census


Transcribed by Bailey,Bryan.  Children Apprenticed to Toplis & Co of Cuckney  1786-1805.

List of children apprecticed to Toplis and Co. giving date when received, child's name, age, Parish, by Whom Sent, date when free and when left,  also a list of them who died name and date given and where from, dating from 1786-1805 with an alphabetical listing and page number. Article in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 895/1, and also in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.122, pages 16-79, Family History Library Ref.942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,529 times.