Norton Lindsey, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Norton Lindsey, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Norton Lindsey, Warwickshire
Nortont Lindsey Holy Trinity Warowckshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Warwick
Registration District Warwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742; For more records see Claverdon
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office


Parish History

Norton-Lindsey, or Norton-Superior, is a parish, with a village, in the district and county of Warwick.; it is 1¾ of a mile E S E of Claverdon railway station, and 3½ miles W S W of Warwick. The post-town is, Claverdon, under Warwick.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norton Lindsey, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Norton Lindsey, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1701-1812 1701-1812 1701-1812 1701-1812 1701-1812 1701-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2015, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,149 times.