Norton Mandeville, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Norton Mandeville, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Norton Mandeville, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Norton Mandeville, Essex
All Saint's Church, Norton Mandeville, Essex.jpg
All Saint's Church, Norton Mandeville, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Ongar PLU
Registration District Ongar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ongar
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norton-Mandeville, is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; near the river Roding, 2½ miles N E of Ongar railway station. Post-town, Ongar,is  under Brentwood.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Norton Mandeville, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1784-2005 1779-1957 1783-2005
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.


Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

No parish records are known to survive except the registers. Details of poor relief, 1776-1821, which are given below, come from returns made to Parliament and may not always be very accurate.  In 1776 a total of £70 was said to have been spent on poor relief.  The average for 1783-5 was £36. The cost of relief was given as £140 for 1800-1, and for 1816-17. Between those years it fluctuated, averaging slightly over £100 a year. Only once, in 1815-16, was it higher (£150) than in 1800-1. In 1817-18 it was given as £130, in 1819-20 as £116 and in 1820-1 as £100.
There was a cottage in three tenements in Norton Mandeville which was used as a poor house. It was sold by the Ongar Union in 1837.[3]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Norton Mandeville on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.
  3. From: 'Norton Mandeville: Poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 154. British History. Date accessed: 06 February 2011.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 16:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,460 times.