Norwegian Americans: U.S. CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

All of the United States Censuses from 1850-1920 give the birthplace of each person. The indexes at familySearch.org can be accessed under the Record Search Pilot Tab. The Norwegians can be isolated in each year by typing Norway into the location field and select "Birth/Christening".

United States Census 1850

United States Census 1860

United States Census 1870

United States Census 1880

United States Census 1900

United States Census 1920

For many family history researchers the 1900 U.S. Census is of tremedous help. That is the first census that gives the year of immigration, which can be very helpful in getting ones ancestor back to the "old country". The year of immigration is also given in the 1910, 1920, and 1930 censuses.

Ancestry.com subscription service also has census records.

HeritageQuestOnline.com, which is available through most public libraries, has head-of-household indexes to the U.S. Census records.


Emigration records from Norway start 1867. Therefore the U.S. Census records for 1850 and 1860 can be of great help in identifying one's Norwegian ancestors already here in America. Although the census records do not usually give the place of birth in Norway, many give an additional "last name" or the farm name in Norway, making it possible to trace a person back to Norway, and to determine a person's age.

Norwegians in the 1850 U.S. Census

Norwegians in the 1860 U.S. Census


The 1910 Census is on the way!!  A great addition to this census is the information about the returned "Norwegians from America".  There will be information on the last place of residence i America, and how long they had lived "over there"!
Instead of just the birth year of persons we will find complete birth information.


Return to Norwegian American page


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 March 2012, at 04:09.
  • This page has been accessed 926 times.