Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Gregory Pottergate is an Ancient Parish within the city and Diocese of Norwich.

It was declared redundant and is in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co. town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac.[1]

Church Records

Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Norwich St Gregory, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1571-1903
1571-1902
1571-1913
FS PRs Undefined 1571-1903 Undefined 1571-1902 Undefined 1571-1913
IGI 1571-1812 1571-1813
TIN 1813-1880

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Mallett, B. Which Was His Father.  History and Family tree of Nicholas Mallett and Susanna Salmon,at St. Gregory, Norwich 1748, and  his 2nd marriage to  Sara Field at Coslany in 1777.The surnames included on the tree are Sayer, Mason, Evans, Waters-Leaving, dated from 1748 - 1963.  Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 4, pt. 2, page 45, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.4, pt 2.

Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
•Vision of Britain

Websites

For historic photographs of the features of this church http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk

References:

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 02:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,812 times.