Norwich St Peter Hungate, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Norwich St Peter Hungate, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Norwich PLU|
|Parish registers: 1596|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1630|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Norwich St Peter Hungate is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.
The building is in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust and houses Hungate Medieval Art a charitable trust dedicated to medieval artifacts from churches in the county and diocese.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Norwich St Peter Hungate, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Norwich St Peter Hungate, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||Undefined||1597-1796, 1807-1901||Undefined||1597-1901||Undefined||1597-1855|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.
Poor Law Union
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church
Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp
Hungate Medieval Art www.hungate.org.uk
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 02:31.
- This page has been accessed 3,131 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News