Norwich St Peter Mancroft, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Norwich St Peter Mancroft, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norwich St Peter Mancroft, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

Norwich St Peter Mancroft is Ancient parish within the city and Diocese of Norwich.

It is the largest parish church in the city. It was founded possibly by Ralph de Guader, the earl of Norfolk shortly after 1066 as one of the three churches in the new ‘French Borough’ (the others were St Stephen and St Giles). The original church appears to have had a central tower. The present building was erected  between 1430 and 1455. The wealth of the parish is shown by the fact that it is entirely faced with freestone, and flint is used only for flushwork. It retains its medieval appearance externally with the exception of the top of the tower: the spire, ‘pepperpots’ at the corners, and zig-zag parapet were added in 1895.

Church records

Norwich St Peter Mancroft, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[4]
Norwich St Peter Mancroft, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1900
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1890 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1997
IGI 1538-1875 1558-1880
TIN 1813-1880

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

•Vision of Britain

External Links for historic photographs


  1. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  2. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 02:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,644 times.