Norwich St Peter Southgate, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Norwich St Peter Southgate, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Norwich St Peter at Southgate is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.

This church was used for services until a few years before its demolition in 1887. It consisted of a nave, chancel,north chapel, south porch and a square west tower in which were three bells. Anciently known as St Peter de Bither, it was founded before 1217 but appears to have been rebuilt. All that now remains is the lower part of the tower with a brick Tudor arch.

Norwich, parl. and mun. bor., city, co.town of Norfolk, and co. in itself, on river Wensum, 20 miles W. of Yarmouth and 114 NE. of London by rail, 7472 ac.[1]

Church records

Norwich St Peter Southgate, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Norwich St Peter Southgate, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1882
1754-1882
1813-1864
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1882 Undefined 1558-1883 Undefined 1558-1864
IGI 1558-1875 1625-1882

Civil Registration Districts

  • Norwich
  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.



Probate records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


•Vision of Britain

External Links

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the ruins of the church

References:

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 02:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,003 times.