Nova Scotia Census 1861 Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Nova Scotia Census 1861 Index)
FamilySearch Record Search This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.
Access the records: Nova Scotia Census 1861 .

Contents

Record Description

These records include the 1861 census for the province of Nova Scotia. The census day was March 30, 1860.

Census schedules were taken on large sheets of paper with preprinted rows and columns. They are bound into volumes, arranged by county, then by township and enumeration district.

Census takers were asked to record information about all those who were in each household on the census day, as well as any who have died since that day. A census taker might have visited a house on a later date, but the information he collected was supposed to be about the people who were in the house on the census day. Enumeration was by census district.

Census districts were voting districts, not counties, although most have the same names as counties. For the most part, census districts were synonymous with cities and counties, and subdistricts were synonymous with towns, townships, and city wards. Villages, small towns, and parishes were generally enumerated as part of the township in which they were located. Census district and county boundaries were not always the same, and there were many variations from location to location.

Canadian census records were taken to enumerate the population for representation, taxation, and other purposes.

The accuracy of the census depended on the knowledge of the informant and the care of the enumerator. Realize that the information may have been given to a census taker by any member of the family or even by a neighbor.

Record Content

Census records usually contain the following information:

  • Name
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Race
  • Residence
  • Profession
  • Family members

How to Use the Record

To begin your search, it would be helpful if you knew the following information:

  • Name of ancestor
  • Approximate year and place of residence

Search the Collection

Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the individuals in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.

As you are searching, it is helpful to know such information as your ancestor’s given name and surname, some identifying information such as residence and age, and family relationships. Remember that there may be more than one person in the records with the same name as your ancestor and that your ancestor may have used nicknames or different names at different times.

For tips about searching online collections, read FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

General Information About This Collection

This census lists the birthplace for each person, along with his or her age, and other personal information. Since the census attempted to record all the people living in a household, it may identify individuals for whom other records simply do not exist.

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Don't overlook FHL Place Canada, Nova Scotia items or FHL Keyword Nova Scotia items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Nova Scotia Archives and Libraries.

Related Websites

Related Wiki Articles

How You Can Contribute

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.


Citations for This Collection

Citing your sources makes it easy for others to find and evaluate the records you used. When you copy information from a record, list where you found that information. Here you can find citations already created for the entire collection and for each individual record or image.  

Collection Citation:

"Nova Scotia Census, 1861" Database. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2015. Citing Board of Registration and Statistics. Public Archives, Halifax.


Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):

The citation for a record is available with each record in this collection, at the bottom of the record screen. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for Nova Scotia Census 1861.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 July 2015, at 14:19.
  • This page has been accessed 12,740 times.