Ockbrook, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ockbrook, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
All Saints' Church, Ockbrook - geograph org uk - 1769688
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow PLU|
|Parish registers: 1630|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Ockbrook, All Saints, is an Ancient parish which includes Borrowash in Derbyshire. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and adjoining the village is a settlement of the United Brethren, commonly called Moravians, founded in 1750. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Ockbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Ockbrook All Saints (1643) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2000 has deposited registers Bap 1643-1981 Mar 1630-1733, 1755-2000 Burials 1630-2001 Banns 1823-1955
There is some debate about Banns 1891-1913 which may be for Ockbrook or South Darley, Derbyshire
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1858 Mar 1663-1837 Burials 1663-1858 Missing Bap & Bur 1841,1857
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Moravian/United Brethren
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ockbrook on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 13:09.
- This page has been accessed 1,619 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News