Odstock, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Odstock, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawden and Cadworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury PLU
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

ODSTOCK, (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Alderbury, hundred of Cawden and Cadworth, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire. The town is on an affluent of the river Avon. It is 3 miles (S.) from Salisbury and 2½ miles S of Salisbury railway station. [1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Odstock, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Odstock, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NIM 1541-1812
1561-1837
1543-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 469-472. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 22:08.
  • This page has been accessed 456 times.