Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selkey
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Canons of Windsor in Wantage
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

OGBOURNE-ST. GEORGE, or Great Okebourne, a village and a parish in Marlborough district, in the county of Wiltshire (Wilts). It is located in hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury. it is 4 miles (N.) from Marlborough.[1][2]

The village stands near the source of a small affluent of the river Kennet, 3½ miles NE of Marlborough railway station.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Ogbourne St George, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1663-1875 1664-1875
NIM 1579-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 472-476. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,529 times.