Oglethorpe County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oglethorpe County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Oglethorpe County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||19 December, 1793|
|Address|| Oglethorpe County Courthouse|
PO Box 261
Lexington, GA 30648-0261
Oglethorpe County Website
Oglethorpe County Courthouse
PO Box 261
Lexington, GA 30648-0261
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and burial records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1794
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
No reported loss or damage.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- - 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- - 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- - 63rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's informantion is also given)
- Confederate States of America. Army. Gilmer Blues. 1965. This they remembered: the history of the four companies and those in other companies, who went from Oglethorpe County to serve in the War between the States: The Gilmer Blues, The Oglethorpe Rifles, The Tom Cobb Infantry, The Echols Artillery. Washington, Georgia: Washington Pub. Co. (Entire Book) 975.8175 M25u
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Oglethorpe County). 1957. Disabled or invalid Confederate soldiers roll 1881-1895 and Confederate Veterańs Association of Oglethorpe Co., camp roll & minutes 1889-1931. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 158794
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, Book A 1793-1807 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Book B 1807-1826 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book C 1826-1834 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book D 1833-1866 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book E 1863-1886 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns 1798-1814 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns 1815-1830 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns and Estates 1815-1831 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns 1822-1828 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns 1828-1837 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns 1830-1832 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1875-1876 - Oglethorpe County Birth Index Books 1, 2, and D 1875-1876. Batch C713471 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1785 - 1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808 - 1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1794-1877 - Oglethorpe County Marriage Books 2 and D Index 1794-1877. Batch M713474 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1829-1902 - Oglethorpe County Marriage Index 1829-1902. Batch M713473 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1854-1874 - Oglethorpe County Marriage Index 1854-1874. Batch M713472 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1873-1891 - Oglethorpe County Marriage Books B thru D Index 1873-1891. Batch M713476 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1891-1897 - Oglethorpe County Marriage Book E Index 1891-1897. Batch M713475 at FamilySearch - free.
- Marriages from Newspapers, 1885-1886
- 1933 - 1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914 - 1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928 - 1938 Georgia Deaths 1928-1938 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Historic Oglethorpe County, Inc.
P. O. BOX 307
LEXINGTON, GA. 30648-0307
Historic Oglethorpe County
East Georgia Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Oglethorpe County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oglethorpe County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 47. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 30 July 2015, at 02:22.
- This page has been accessed 11,153 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News