Okaloosa County, Florida GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Okaloosa County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Okaloosa County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||June 3, 1915|
Okaloosa County Courthouse
101 E James Lee Boulevard
Crestview, FL 32536
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1915. 
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
- Tombstone Transcription Project
- Find A Grave website (Okaloosa)
- Publication "Cemeteries of Okaloosa County" (Three Volumes); Genealogical Society of Okaloosa County.
- FamilySearch Catalog, partial listing; microfilm format, surveys done by members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Burials and cemeteries on government property (Eglin Air Force Base):
- Okaloosa and Walton County Cemeteries, including some on government property (Eglin AFB)
- Finally, it should be noted that an examination of Santa Rosa County cemeteries may be appropriate, as it was one of two parent counties that produced Okaloosa County.
For tips on accessing Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records are held by the Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1915-1935 - Okaloosa County Marriage Books 1-2 Index 1915-1935. Batch M746107 at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
- List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- An excellent guide to museums and libraries can be found at the Genealogical Society of Okaloosa County web site
Of particular note, in so far as family histories and genealogy is concerned are the following:
- Valparaiso Community Library: Contains a dedicated genealogy section. "The Louise K. Fitzgarrald Genealogy Department boasts one of the finest genealogy collections in the state of Florida. Over 7,000 volumes of printed materials and 1,200 microfilm reels from Federal Census records and other references are available for use. The library also offers free access to subscription based online genealogical services."
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Okaloosa County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Okaloosa County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Okaloosa County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Okalossa County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:26.
- This page has been accessed 6,086 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More