Old Swinford, WorcestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Old Swinford, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Halfshire; South Seisdon
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish records: 1602; Separate registers exist for Stourbridge beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Please refer to Kingswinford, Staffordshire Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire and Wordsley Holy Trinity, Staffordshire for references to Old Swinford and the arrangement of record keeping.

Contents

Parish History

SWINFORD, OLD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stourbridge, partly in the S. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, but chiefly in the Lower division of the hundred of Halfshire, Stourbridge and E. divisions of the county of Worcester; with the hamlet of Amblecoat, and the townships of Lye, Stourbridge, Wollaston, and Wollescott.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:27.
  • This page has been accessed 747 times.