Ondo State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Ondo State

Guide to Ondo State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Ondo State
Ondo State, Nigeria was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State. It originally included what is now Ekiti State, which was split off in 1996. Akure is the state capital.


The ethnic composition of Ondo State is largely from the Yoruba subgroups of the Akoko, Akure, Ikale, Ilaje, Ondo, and Owo. Ijaw minority (such as Apoi and Arogbo) populations inhabit the coastal areas; while a sizable number of the Ondo State people who speak a variant of the Yoruba language similar to Ife dialect reside in Oke-Igbo. These people are also Yorubas.

Local Government Areas

Resources

History

Ondo, state, western Nigeria. It was created out of former Ondo province of former Western state in 1976. It is bounded by the states of Kwara and Kogi on the north, Edo on the east, Delta on the southeast, and Osun and Ogun on the west and by the Bight of Benin of the Atlantic Ocean on the south. Ondo state includes mangrove-swamp forest near the Bight of Benin, tropical rain forest in the centre part, and wooded savanna on the gentle slopes of the Yoruba Hills in the north.

Genealogy

Websites

Ondo State Government (retrieved 13 April 2010)

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,792 times.