Oneida County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oneida County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Oneida County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Oneida County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Rhinelander, WI 54501
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce; court records Registrar in
Probate Court has probate records 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
- "History of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas Counties Wisconsin" (printed in 1925 . The beginning of the book is history of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas. The remaining 587 pages are biographies of those towns. You can search by surname)
- Oneida County Cemeteries includes transcriptions
Church History and Records
- "Histories of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas Counties Wisconsin" (printed in 1925, link to chapter 17. The beginning of the book is history of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas. The remaining 587 pages are biographies of those towns.)
Crime and Criminals
- Rhinelander and Oneida County (Wisconsin) directories 1921, 1927, 1930
- Oneida County Directory 1930 Including towns of Lake Tomahawk, Minocqua, Monica, Pelican Lake, Three Lakes and Woodruff
- Oneida County Directory 1914-1915 Town of Cassian through Town of Pelican
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- Surnames List of Surnames with purpose to connect researches with common interests
- Oneida Books Books about Oneida County and the people who settled here.
- "History of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas Counties Wisconsin"(printed in 1925 . The beginning of the book is history of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas. The remaining 587 pages are biographies of those towns. You can search by surname)
Land and Property
(printed in 1925 . The beginning of the book is history of Lincoln, Oneida, and Vilas. The remaining 587 pages are biographies of those towns. You can search by surname)
- Wisconsin Department of Transportation - various maps available for purchase
- Family Maps of Oneida County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military History and Records
- Wisconsin Military Records and how Wisconsin was involved in the different wars of the World
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Contact information for The Lakeland Times, The Rhinelander Daily News, and Vilas County News Review. (all three have microfilmed archives to view at various Wisconsin libraries)
- Robitindex Rhinelander area 1882-2006
Archives, Libraries and Museums
- Minocqua Museum
- The History Center and Archives at Ashland (a branch of the Wisconsin Historical Society)
following three have a microfilm reader(all have newspapers for that area since the late 1800's)
- DEMMER LIBRARY
- MINOCQUA PUBLIC LIBRARY
- RHINELANDER DISTRICT LIBRARY
Family History Centers
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
- History of early schools in Oneida County Chapter 22.
LAKELAND AREA GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY
Mailing address:PO Box 308
Minocqua WI 54548
Lakeland Area Genealogical Society
NORTHWOODS GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY
PO Box 1132
Rhinelander, WI 54501-1132
Three Lakes Genealogical Society
P O Box 101
Three Lakes, Wisconsin 54562
Northland Historical Society
PO Box 325
Lake Tomahawk, WI 54539
Rhinelander Historical Society
9 S Pelham St
Rhinelander, WI 54501
Woodruff Historical Society
PO Box 851
Woodruff, WI 54568
- Oneida County [Wisconsin registration of births, ca. 1887-1907] Index to Registrations of Births, 1852-1907" (arranged by birth date; fiche #6331476, 41 fiche). "Unedited Index to Registrations of Births, 1852-1907" (arranged in alphabetical order by surname.
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Oneida County [Wisconsin registration of marriages, 1887-1907; index to marriages, 1887-1907]
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Wisconsin Death Index 1959-1979 This is an online searchable microfiche index. The site includes directions on how to search this index.
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Oneida County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Oneida Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 9 October 2015, at 21:54.
- This page has been accessed 9,944 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News