Onsøy, Østfold, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Onsøy, Norway)

Norway > Østfold County > Onsøy

Contents

Church Records

Onsøy parish with the Gressvik chapel has 6 volumes of Ministerialbok or Kirkebøker, registers kept by the parish priest dating from 1733-1898. Additionally, there were 4 volumes of Klokkerbok kept by the sexton dating from 1814-1926. Gressvik kept its own records separately from 1903-1911. Gressvik became a parish in 1924.

The Genealogical Society of Utah filmed these records. they are also available as digital images from The National Archives of Norway (Digitalarkivet).

Onsøy: 1733-1877

Onsøy / Onsøy: 1878-1898, 1903-1948, 1956-1969

Onsøy / Gressvik: 1903-1969

Census Records

The Folketelling or census records for Onsøy clerical district, including Onsøy parish, lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation in the 1801 census. The 1845 census includes the farm names, head of household, number of people on each farm, sex and other miscellaneous information. The 1865 and 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1664-66 Census for Onsøy

1801 Census for Onsøy

1865 Census for Onsøy

1875 Census for Onsøy

1891 Census for Onsøy

1900 Census for Onsøy

1910 Census for Onsøy

1845 Census for Onsøy can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 1694662 item 9

Census Microfilm collection at FamilySearch

The 1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 census is also available online in a searchable database at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

The Tingbøker or court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, "odelssaker". You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records. These records are for Tune judicial district which includes these places: Varteig, Borge, Tune, Rolvsøy, Onsøy, Hvaler, Kråkerøy, and Glemmen in Østfold county. Records for 1653-1692 have been filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.

Land Records

The Pantebøker or mortgage records give information about real estate, conveyances, mortgages and other transactions of properties. Contracts, agreements, and deeds are also recorded in these books. The panteregisters are extracts of these records. These records are for Tune judicial district which include these places: Skjeberg, Varteig, Borge, Tune, Rolvsøy, Onsøy, Hvaler, Kråkerøy, and Glemmen in Østfold county.

Farm Books

Onsøy lacks any current farm books giving detailed accounts of farm ownership and tennants. However some histories have been published:

Onsø herred 1814-1914: en historisk samt topografisk-statistisk utvikling til Norges 100 aars fest by Joh. K. Bergwitz. Fredrikstad : Centraltyrkkeriet, 1914. 228 p.

Onsøys historie by Terje Schou. Gressvik : Onsøy kommune, 1993. 4 vols.

There is also a local history journal, published annually, for the Onsøy area which includes some farm and family histories:

Varden : årsskrift for Onsøy historielag. Gressvik : Onsøy historielag, 1950- . The volumes for 1950-1955 were published as julehefte or Christmas books.

Farm Names

51 Aale nedre 14 Ammundrød 120 Berge 33 Borge mellem 97 Bossum mellem 121 Braaten 46 Brekke 70 Brekke 43 Dale 57 Dale lille 19 Duberg 68 Dyrød 20 Ek 102 Ellingaard 59 Elslet 112 Engelsviken 103 Espesti 71 Fjelle lille 56 Fjelle store 95 Forsetlund nordre 13 Fosse 74 Fuglesangen 110 Gaustad nedre 92 Gjølberg 48 Græsvik 94 Hageengen 69 Halvorsrød 105 Hankø 49 Hauge 91 Hauge nordre 108 Haviken 2 Havnen 102 Hov 47 Hurrød 101 Huseby lille 119 Husløs nordre 7 Høium 37 Ingulsrød 123 Kallerød 78 Kjenne vestre 36 Kjevelsrød 121 Kjære 35 Kjølberg 102 Kleppe 27 Kolberg nordre 29 Kolberghuset 122 Koret 121 Kraaketorp 11 Krabberød 39 Krabberød 54 Krosnes 58 Langeteig 67 Langgaard 79 Lere 117 Lervik 80 Lilleng 83 Lund lille 99 Lund vestre 35 Lunden 121 Løkken 115 Manstad 65 Mellegaard 8 Mellem-Ørmen vestre 103 Missingerne 10 Mollestad 24 Mossig nordre 26 Mossighuset 23 Mossigrød 66 Nesteng 62 Nøklegaard 53 Okseviken 63 Oksrød 19 Onsø Præstegaard 66 Ramseklove 33 Rasmusbingen 106 Rauø 105 Risholmen 52 Rød 109 Rød vestre 66 Rørvik 127 Røtne 125 Saltnes mellem 87 Sanderup 41 Skaare mellem 66 Skjellum-Sortebæk 118 Skjælø 22 Skogen 86 Skollerød 113 Skontorp 32 Skuggerødmyren 66 Slevik vestre 21 Slottet 107 Smauet 126 Solberg 73 Solbrekke 72 Stenakrød 88 Stene lille 114 Stene vestre 38 Strand nedre 54 Stranden 12 Svierød 61 Søstrene 15 Torbjørnrød 60 Torgauten 81 Torp søndre 30 Torp vestre 19 Treskallen 51 Trondalen 76 Tvete vestre 17 Ulvedalen 16 Valle nordre 85 Vikene 55 Viker 104 Ytterstad 44 Ørebæk vestre 1 Ørmenneset 85 Øtne vestre

Probate Records

1772-1879: Probates may be found in Tune judicial district.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 19:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,693 times.