Orange County California FamilySearch LibraryEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Tue: 9 am – 9 pm
( 2nd Tue: 9 am – 6:30 pm)
Wed: 9 am – 9 pm
Thu: 9 am – 9 pm
Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
674 South Yorba Street, Orange, California
Entrance off the parking lot of
The public is welcome.
Phone: (714) 997-7710
P.O. Box 6471
Hardware and Equipment
17 Patron Computers with internet access, WiFi, 8 Microfilm and 2 Microfiche Readers
Digital Scanning from film, Microfiche & Book Copy Machines; Copy to paper, CD or USB Media
flatbed Scanners, Over 15,000 microfilms, Large Periodical Holdings
over 8,500 Books
Free Database Access
- Ancestry (use for free)
- Heritage Quest
- AmericanAncestors.org (New England Historical & Genealogical Society)
- Access Newspaper Archive
- US Civil War Research Database
- US Civil War Letters and Diaries
- Images of the American Civil War
- British Library 19th C Newspapers
- Pedigree Resource File
- Scottish Church Records
- Korean & Vietnam Casualties
Description of some of the above databases
Fold3 - Fold3 is a subscription-based website that features searchable, original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people that shaped the American nation and the world. The emphasis of the site is Military Documents. Fold3 is currently working with FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate, and upload content.
Godfrey Memorial Library - Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.
Heritage Quest/ProQuest - Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local history articles.
Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension, Bounty-Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records. World Vital Records - World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers, Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business day.
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 22:14.
- This page has been accessed 11,953 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News