Ordsall, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ordsall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Ordsall All Hallows Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1628|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ORDSALL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (S.) from East Retford. The village is old, and irregularly built on the west bank of the Idle, which divides the lordship of Ordsall from that of Thrumpton; these two places make up the entire parish, and the latter includes the neat hamlet of Whitehouses.
Ordsall All Hallows is an Ancient Parish. For centuries the parish of Ordsall consisted of the village and two small hamlets, Thrumpton and Whitehouses. In 1921 the parish was abolished and it joined with the parishes of North Retford, West Retford and East Retford to form an enlarged East Retford parish.
The Parish Church of All Hallows, Church Lane, Clumber and Hardwick has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building
See also Ordsall Nottinghamshire Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Ordsall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Ordsall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Ordsall All Hallows
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1959 Marriages 1577-1955 Burials 1556-1950 Bishop’s Transcripts 1628-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Ordsall St Albans Baptisms 1927-1960 Marriages 1936-1951
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ordsall
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 00:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,578 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More