Orton Longueville with St Botolphbridge, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Orton Longueville with St Botolphbridge, Huntingdonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norman Cross
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough PLU
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Botolphbridge beginning 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; Separate records exist for Botolphbridge beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yaxley
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Orton Longueville with St Botolphbridge, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Orton-Longueville, (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Peterborough, and hundred of Norman Cross, Huntingdonshire 2¼ miles S W from Peterborough[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Orton Longueville with St Botolphbridge, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Orton Longueville with St Botolphbridge, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1559-1800
NBI

1559-1900

Botolphbridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Botolphbridge Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1556-1676
NBI

1556-1676

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288838.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Orton Longueville on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,227 times.