Os, Hordaland, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Os, Hordaland, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngHordaland County Gotoarrow.pngOs

Guide to Os, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Contents

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Os clerical district). contains parish registers for Os clerical district which includes the parishes: Os with Lysekloster and Samnanger. Also included the parishes Fusa, Hålandsdal, and Strandvik with Sundvor chapel until 1855, when they became part of Fusa clerical district. Samnanger parish was separated from Os clerical district in 1949 when it became its own clerical district. Records available from 1669-1929.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Os: 1760-1880

Os: Sjeleregister (church census) 1791

Os/Fusa: 1669-1719, 1723-1760

Os/Hålandsdal: 1669-1760

Os/Os: 1669-1758, 1869-1940

Os/Samnanger: 1669-1760

Os/Strandvik: 1669-1760; Sjeleregister (church census) 1789

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall Søndhordland fogderi Os skibrede and parishes Strandvik skibrede and parishes. Included Os, Fusa, Strandvik, Samnanger and Hålandsdal. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 122979 Item 4 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Sundhordland prosti Os clerical district, Os parish, Samnanger parish, Fusa parish, Strandvik parish and Hålandsdal parish. This census was taken by the local parish priests. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 122971 Item 3 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
  • 1801 Census Os clerical district included Os, Sanmanger, Fusa, Hålandsdal and Strandvik parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Film 123002 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1865-telling for 1243 Os.
  • 1875 Census Os clerical district included Os and Sanmanger parishes. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library Films 273488-273489.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Tveit, Nils, Os, eit utsyn over Osbygdi frå gamall tid til no, Bergen : A.S. Centraltrykkeriet, 1932-1941. A genealogy of the people and a history of Os in Hordaland county from the earliest times to the present. Vol. 3 includes an expanded index. 948.32/O2 D2t Farm name indexes to volumes 2 and 3 are found in the following links. File:948.32-O2 D2t v2 - OSSOGA 2.pdf, File:948.32-O2 D2t V3 - OSSOGA 3.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

63 Aarebakken 18 Aasen 24 Askvik 23 Baland 71 Berge vestre 8 Bergstøen 68 Bjaanes 20 Bjoarvik 46 Bjørnen 31 Bjørnerøen 45 Bjørneviken 60 Borgen 29 Bruerøen 65 Bø 1 Bøsæter 1 Bøsæter med Saueskaaren og Raudlien 21 Drange indre 35 Døsen 72 Eide nedre 22 Eidsviken 8 Eikhaugen 25 Forstrønen 47 Færstad 2 Gaassand 56 Garvik 67 Gjeilene 78 Gjemdal 56 Grindestølen 36 Grindevold 10 Haalen 33 Hagaviken 44 Haljem 1 Hatlelien 69 Hatvik 63 Hauge 43 Haugland indre 5 Haukeland 77 Heggeland 73 Hegland 57 Helleflaaten 24 Hildershavn 61 Hjelle 33 Hovland 11 Kalvetræet 67 Klyve 21 Kollen 54 Kuven 32 Kvalesund 15 Leirvaagen 49 Lekven indre 31 Lepsøen 81 Lien 69 Lonene 45 Lunde 59 Lunden 9 Lysekloster 64 Lyssand 16 Lysøen 82 Lønningdal 76 Midhus 84 Midsæteren 52 Moberg indre 50 Moberglien 66 Molde 14 Nordstrømmen 27 Nordstrønen 55 Præstegaarden 80 Rød indre 4 Røikenes 29 Røtingen 34 Sagebakken 19 Salbuvik 6 Sanden 12 Sjøbøen 72 Skavhellen 34 Skeie 23 Skotesundsjøen 15 Spireviken 85 Steindalsæteren 39 Storum 27 Strønesjøen 29 Stølshaugen 30 Sunnøen 7 Sælen 40 Særvold vestre 8 Søfteland 13 Sørstrømmen 28 Sørstrønen 17 Søviken 54 Træet 63 Træet 65 Træet 38 Tuen indre 75 Tveit 58 Tyssedal 3 Tømmernes 53 Ulven 53 Vagtdalen 53 Vaksinen 62 Valle 29 Vedholmen 41 Viken 26 Økland 83 Øvredalen

For two longer lists of farm names click on these links: then click on the next link given as well.

https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-O2_D2t_v2_-_OSSOGA_2.pdf

https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-O2_D2t_V3_-_OSSOGA_3.pdf

Probate Records

1668-1848: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to the Rosendal Estate or Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Rosendal and Lysekloster were kept.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2015, at 16:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,252 times.