Osage County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Osage County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Osage County, Missouri|
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
|Founded||January 29, 1841|
|Address|| Osage County Courthouse|
106 E Main Street
Linn, MO 65501
Osage County Website
Osage County, Missouri Record Dates
Recorder Deeds has marriage and land records from 1841;
probate courth has probate records from 1841; County
Clerk has birth and death records
Osage County is a county located in the U.S. state of Missouri. The county was named for the Osage River. As of 2000, the population was 13,062. Its county seat is Linn. The center of population of Missouri is located in Osage County, in the city of Westphalia
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the Map of US.org website.
For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Bonnots Mill
- Jefferson Township
- Loose Creek
- Rich Fountain
Belle · Bland · Chamois · Linn · Meta · Westphalia
To see a list of places in Osage County, click on [Show], in the bar above.
Osage County Historical Society has information on historic places from Gasconade, Maries & Osage Counties including sources and links to historic maps. Also see: The Ramsay Place Names File for Osage County. (State Historical Society of Missouri)
- All of the family biographies from the History of Osage County, Missouri (1889) by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local histories are available for Osage County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- History of Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Benton, Miller, Maries and Osage counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present, including a department devoted to the preservation of sundry personal, business, professional and private records, besides a valuable fund of notes, original observations, etc., etc. Chicago : Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1889.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free)
The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Osage County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- - 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
:- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Osage County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Osage County communities.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
- 1827 - 1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1883-1898 - Osage County Birth Index 1883-1898 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1802 - 1969 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1802-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at [http://home.ancestry.com/
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1841-1875 - Osage County Marriage Index 1841-1875. Batch M515531 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1875-1885 - Osage County Marriage Index 1875-1885. Batch M515532 at FamilySearch - free.
- Marriage records, Osage County, Missouri : book "A", 1841-1861 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883-1898 - Osage County Death Index 1883-1898 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Osage County Historical Society
P.O. Box 402
Linn, MO 6505
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Osage Beach Missouri Family History Center 54 Hwy KK, Osage Beach, MO 65049 United States Locaton Map
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|Missouri Digital Heritage||Free||digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State|
|MOGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|RootsWeb resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS||Free||family history resources and government records|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.|
|Missouri State Archives Library||catalog; from this page you must search "Osage County"|
|Google+||Missouri Genealogy Network Community|
|list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search|
|genealogy.com||Osage County, MO Genealogy Forum|
|ancestry.com||Osage County Message Board|
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Osage County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ http://www.census.gov/geo/www/cenpop/statecenters.txt
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 10 August 2015, at 21:29.
- This page has been accessed 11,902 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News