Osbaldwick, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Osbaldwick, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||York PLU|
|Parish registers: 1581|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1632|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Osbaldwick; Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Strensall|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Osbaldwick St Thomas is an Ancient Parish in the City of York in North Yorkshire. The chapelry of Murton (near York) was formed from the Ancient Parish.
The church of St Thomas Osbaldwick has been designated as a grade II listed Building British listed building
OSBALDWICK (St. Thomas), a parish, in the union of York, wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York; containing, with the township of Murton, 361 inhabitants, of whom 200 are in the township of Osbaldwick, 2¼ miles (E.) from York.
Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these
Online data content from chapelry registers of Osbaldwick exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|OSBALDWICK PARISH (1582) Online Records|
|BIVRI||1582-1732, 1875-1886 (gaps)||
||1582-1732, 1875-1886 (gaps)||
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 483-486. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,606 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News