Oslo County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oslo County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
The city of Oslo was established as a municipality on 3 January 1838. It was separated from the county of Akershus to become a county of its own in 1842. The rural municipality of Aker was merged with Oslo on 1 January 1948 and simultaneously transferred from Akershus county to Oslo county.
The urban municipality (bykommune) of Oslo and county (fylke) is the same entity, making Oslo the only city in Norway where two administrative levels are integrated.
Family History Resources
Government Offices and Sites
Parishes and Congregations in Oslo City
Alphabetical Street Index for Kristiania (Oslo) year 1899
A description of the 17 districts (krets) in which the city was divided in 1899. A list is provided for all the streets in Oslo and which district they are located in. Since people usually attended their local church, this allow the researcher to know which church books to search as long as the street is known.
Cemetery data for Oslo The name of a person can be entered along with a date if known. Click on the work "Søk" in the lower right to find possible matches. Sometimes entire families are found buried together.
Census records avaialble in a scanned database online at Digital Archives:
Cenuses available in a searchable database online at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre for the years 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910.
Census records available on microfilm/microfiche at the Family History Library.
The Norwegian Church (Den Norske Kirke) kept the vital statistics of the population. See Church Records for the contents and in-depth descriptions of the records. The links to the records available at the Family History Library are found in the individual parish under Parishes and Congregations in Oslo City Section.
The National Archival Services of Norway maintains a website, Digitalarkivet.uib.no, in which you can search in transcribed source material for free. Images of the original church books have also been placed there. The Digitised Parish Registers interface can be used in English, Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk) or Samisk (Davvisámegiella). However, the records are written in Norwegian.
Later church records which not have been microfilmed by the Family History Library can be found at Digitalarkivet. They are for Bekkelaget, Botsfengselet, Bredtvet, Bøler, Christi menighet (Dissenter), The First Methodist Church (Dissenter), Døves (deaf) congregation, Fagerborg, Grefsen, Hauge, Lilleborg, Majorstuen, Mangelrud, Markus, Matteus, Nordberg, Nordstrand, Ris, Røa, Sofienberg, Tonsen, Torshov, Tøyen, Ullevål sykehus, Vaterland, and Vålerenga.
Legal procedure, Penitentiary
- This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 19:23.
- This page has been accessed 14,127 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News