Osmaston by Derby, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Osmaston by Derby, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1743
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Derby
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Osmaston, All Saints, a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 1¼ mile (S. S. E.) from Derby. The name of Osmaston by Derby is used for the early records of Derby St Osmund, Derbyshire. Refer to that page for further information.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Osmaston by Derby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Osmaston by Derby St James (1743) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's






PRTS

1743-1812


Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 648 times.