Oswestry, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Oswestry, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
|Poor Law Union||Oswestry|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
In 1887: "Oswestry.-- mun. bor., market town, and par., Shropshire, 18 miles NW. of Shrewsbury and 172 miles from London by rail - par., 16,234 ac., pop. 11,923; bor., 1888 ac., pop. 7847; P.O., T.O., 2 Banks, 2 newspapers. Market-days, Wednesday and Saturday. One of the chief towns on the Welsh border, Oswestry is a place of ancient British origin. ... Trade in Oswestry is mainly connected with malting and the exportation of agricultural produce". The town of Oswestry sits on the border between England and Wales and, at various times, been in both countries.
Historically the parish of Oswestry formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St. Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican Church in Wales on 31 March 1920, it was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oswestry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OSWESTRY PARISH (1558) Online Records|
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1860 Marr 1662-1837 Bur 1662-1860
Moreton (Oswestry) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Moreton (Oswestry) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887
- ↑ 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 20:55.
- This page has been accessed 3,722 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News