Oundle with Ashton, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Oundle with Ashton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Oundle with Ashton, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Polebrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle PLU
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OUNDLE (St. Peter), a market-town and parish, with the hamlet of Ashton. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oundle with Ashton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Oundle with Ashton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1625-1859, 1882-1888 1625-1908 1733-1835, 1844-1906

Marriages from 1672 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Eady, G.A. Three Waves At Least. History of John Eady born 1840, Donaghadee, and descendants, moving to Australia, Victoria, Queensland, and New South Wales, and then moving to New Zealand, Dunedin in 1861 following the gold rush. John did really well, and went back to Donaghadee,Ireland to marry Ellen Kelly, born Gibson. The next to go out was William Thomas Roberts Eady born 1854 in Northampton, went to New Zealand, Auckland, and Cambridge, N.Z. and then Lewis his brother, the same. The third wave was Gerald Austin Eady born in Hampstead, London1929, who went to N.Z. Cambridge, in 1964. Other surnames mentioned are: Walker, Thompson, Quinn. Article in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society, vol. 19,no.1,pages32-34, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.19,no.1

Martin, Shirley. The Martin Family. History and descendants of William Martin who married (1)Jane Frisby, 29 March 1725 and (2) Elisabeth Broughton, 1743 at Oundle Parish, Northants, with their children being baptised there. Descendants appear to move to Tansor, Northamptonshire, Coston, and Warmington, Notts, Selston. Surnames listed: Broughton, Thorrow, Pentiloe, Pywell, Chambers, Bailey, Ellis, Tall, Sheffield, Brudenell, Bloodworth, Sanderson, Hight and Housden. Article dated 1725-1975, and is found in Footprints, vol.6.no.3. pages77-78. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 6.no.3.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Oundle Wills and Headstones 1820-1858 a complete transcription of records for Oundle at The Family History Library, Salt Lake City

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 18:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,040 times.