Over St John Evangelist, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Over St John Evangelist

Guide to Over St John Evangelist, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Over St John Evangelist Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Over St John Evangelist Parish (1863) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
1871-1934
  NONE
1863-1938
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Over St John was created a parish in 1863 from St Chad and Whitegate.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for St. John's Church, Over, 1863-1948 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P222/1/1-2, P222/2/1-4, P222/3/1-5.

Parish Registers: Over St John Film
Baptisms, 1863-1928. Marriages, 1863-1871.
2106122 Items 9 - 11
Marriages, 1871-1948. Burials, 1863-1938.
2106343 Items 1 - 9

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich (1837-1936)

Poor Law Unions

  • Northwich.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References


Bibliography


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 00:48.
  • This page has been accessed 296 times.