Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Tewkesbury; Winchcombe PLU|
|Registration District||Tewkesbury; Winchcomb|
|Parish registers: 1557; Separate registers exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1546|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; Separate records exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1619|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Part of this parish is in Worcestershire. See also Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Gloucestershire.
OVERBURY (St. Faith), a parish, in the unions of Tewkesbury and Winchcomb, Middle division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5½ miles (N. E.) from Tewkesbury; with the chapelries of Alstone, Teddington, and Little Washbourne, and the hamlet of Conderton. The Independents have a place of worship.
Part of parish is in county of Gloucestershire and part in county of Worcestershire.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 16:59.
- This page has been accessed 1,545 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News