Overton, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


A guide to genealogy in Overton, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Overton (Welsh: Owrtyn), sometimes known as Overton-on-Dee, is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in a rural part of the County Borough of Wrexham, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Overton Parish Church



Overton became a town by the granting of a Royal Charter in 1292.
Ecclesiastical references of 1402 show that Overton was a chapelry of the parish of Bangor is y Coed. This parish was in the English diocese of Lichfield until 1541, when it was transferred to the newly created English diocese of Chester. In 1849 it was transferred to the Welsh diocese of St. Asaph.

Overton Parish

The parish church of St. Mary's was built in the late 14th century but has seen much re-building.

On 20 December 1867, Overton became a separate parish, consisting of the townships of:

  • Overton Foreign
  • Overton Villa
  • Knolton
  • Maesgwaelod
  • Maeslewis.


Years County
1before 31 March 1974 Flintshire (detached)
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.

The parish of Overton formed part of the Ellesmere Registrar's District.

Year Parts

Church Records

The following Overton Parish Registers have been deposited at the Flintshire Record Office in Hawarden:

Baptisms 1602 - 1859
Marriages: 1602 - 1934
Burials 1602 - 1957
  • The Clwyd Family History Society have published many of the Overton parish registers.
  • There are no official records available on the IGI for Overton parish.

Nonconformist Church Records

There are no official records available on the IGI for Overton parish.

Civil Records

The parish of Overton formed part of the Overton sub-district of the Ellesmere Registration District and any entries for births, marriages or deaths from 1837 in Overton will appear as Ellesmere in the GRO Indexes.

Poor Law Union

The parish of Overton became part of the Ellesmere Union when it was created on 14 November 1836. The workhouse was built in Haughton, Ellesmere. The records for the Ellesmere Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Maps and Gazetteers



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,162 times.