Oxendon, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Oxendon, Northamptonshire)

England Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Oxendon, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oxendon, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rothwell
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Market Harborough PLU
Registration District Market Harborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1708
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

OXENDEN, GREAT, or Oxendon Magna (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Harborough, hundred of Rothwell, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2½ miles (S. by E.) from Harborough. There is a chapel, used by dissenters of various denominations.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oxendon, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £ [2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £ [2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Oxendon, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1884 1813-1884
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1597-1748 1564-1748 1564-1748

Marriages from 1640 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 726 times.