Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Oxford PLU|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1721|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
St Aldgate, Oxford (City) stood within the limits of both the county of (mostly) Oxfordshire and Berkshire. The ecclesiastical chapel of St. Aldate, Oxford itself, also stood partly in Oxfordshire and partly in Berkshire. It was a parochial chapel in that it possessed ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the chapelry of Christ Church, Oxford (which see), and also was part of the parish of North Hinksey (which also see), in Berkshire. The parish of St Aldate contained within its boundary, Pembroke College as well.
Oxford, was a parliamentary and municipal borough, city, a large market town, and the county town of Oxfordshire, between the rivers Cherwell and Thames, or Isis, and 27 miles northwest of Reading.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Parish registers of Oxford St Aldgate commence in the year 1538 and are searchable at:
Oxford County Record Office
St Luke's Church
Oxford OX4 2EX
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Oxford St Aldate in GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 23:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,082 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News