Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Oxford PLU
Registration District Oxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1722
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Oxford St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Oxfordshire. Other places in the parish include: Jesus College and Exeter College. Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Oxford St Michael. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Oxford, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Oxford St Michael, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1753

OFHS 1558-1923
1615-1922
1616-1941


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference


Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 23:53.
  • This page has been accessed 888 times.