Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Headington; Oxford
Registration District Headington; Oxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

Oxford St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Oxfordshire, created in 1837 from Oxford St Giles Ancient Parish and Oxford St Thomas the Martyr Ancient Parish. Particular Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Oxford St Paul. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Oxford, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Oxford St Paul, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1837-1964

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 23:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,059 times.