Oxton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Oxton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|[[File::Oxton St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire.jpg|200px]]|
:Oxton St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1618|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
OXTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Southwell; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Oxton St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish which includes within its boundaries Fallows, Grangefield, Robinhood's Pot, Robinhood's Hill, and Holbecks and is within the newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the church history Oxton St Peter and St Paul
The Parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Oxton Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oxton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Oxton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Oxton St Peter and St Paul
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1563-1999 Marriages 1564-1952 Burials 1564-1956 Bishop’s Transcripts 1618-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Oxton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 22:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,373 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News