Page County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to Page County

Guide to Page County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Page County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Page County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Page County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1831
County Seat Luray
Courthouse

Contents

Page County, Virginia Courthouse

Page County Courthouse
116 South Court Street
Suite A
Luray, Virginia 22835
Phone:540-743-4142

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce,
land, probate and court records from 1831[1]

Beginning Dates for Page County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1831 1853 1840 1831 1831

Page County, Virginia History

Governor John Page (1744-1808)

The county is named after Virginia Governor John Page (1744-1808).

Parent County

1831--Page County was created 30 March 1831 from Rockingham and Shenandoah Counties.
County seat: Luray [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Page County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Page County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vapage.jpg

Research Guides

  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998
  • Kelley, Teresa. "Paging Through the Past at the Page Public Library, Luray, Page County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jun. 1999):1-2. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.

African Americans

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

  • Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather, comp. Cemetery Records of Page County, Virginia, Volume I, Luray Cemetery. Chillicothe, MO, USA: Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, c1965. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Tombstone Transcription Project Page County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb

Census

For tips on accessing Page County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18406,194
18507,60022.7%
18608,1096.7%
18708,4624.4%
18809,96517.8%
189013,09231.4%
190013,7945.4%
191014,1472.6%
192014,7704.4%
193014,8520.6%
194014,8630.1%
195015,1521.9%
196015,5722.8%
197016,5816.5%
198019,40117.0%
199021,69011.8%
200023,1776.9%


1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Mill Creek (by 1798). Minutes begin in 1798 and have been published through 1824 in the Genealogical Society of Page County, Virginia Newsletter, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Spring 1998), Vol. 9, No. 3 (Summer 1998), Vol. 9, No. 4 (Fall 1998), Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1999), Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1999), Vol. 10, No. 3 (Summer 1999). Membership lists (1823-1846) and deaths (1829-1850) were published in Seattle Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 4 (June 1967) and Vol. 17, No. 1 (Sep. 1967): FHL Book 979.777 B2b v. 16-17 (1966-1968).
German Reformed
  • Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.

Court

Indexes and images to Page County, Virginia Chancery Records 1831-1914 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Page County families. To view a list, visit Page County, Virginia Genealogy.

Land and Property

Local Histories

  • Strickler, Harry M. A Short History of Page County Virginia. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Inc., 1952. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Maps

  • Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Page County on pages 135-136.]
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Orange County, p. 97. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Page County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Page County, Virginia:

- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company D (Captain Macon Jordan).[3]
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Page Volunteers).[4]
- 35th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).[5]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Page County, Virginia newspapers.

Occupations

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Luray silversmiths.]

Private Papers

Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007

Probate Records

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • [1777] "Augusta County Tithables, 1777," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42 Iss. 4 (Nov. 2004):307-310. Available at FHL. [Covers area of present-day eastern Rockingham and Page counties.]
  • [1855] Free Negroes and Mulattoes, within County, over 12 Years of Age, 1855, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
  • [1856] Free Negroes and Mulattoes, Modesitt District, with Ages, 1856, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
  • [1858] Free Negroes over 12, 1858, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Winter 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 1.

Vital Records

Indexes to Page County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1865-1872 - Page County Birth Index 1865-1872. Batch C868640 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Marriage
  • 1831-1906 - Page County Marriage Index 1831-1906. Batch M868640 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Death
  • 1864-1872 - Page County Death Index 1864-1872. Batch B868640 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Vital Record Substitutes

Page County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Page County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Page County, Virginia. Page 718 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  4. Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
  5. John E. Divine, 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 19.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 February 2014, at 08:36.
  • This page has been accessed 10,497 times.