Pakefield, SuffolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
PAKEFIELD (All Saints), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 2¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Lowestoft.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to Pakefield and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalogue for available records.
Pakefield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|Pakefield, Suffolk Parish Online Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FHLC. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FHL catalogue.
provides unindexed but printable and copyable "as filmed" records of christenings, marriages and burials (plus some banns) of the Pakefield parish records. These records are part of the "NORFOLK PARISH RECORD SET", which is a slightly incorrect description for what are actually "NORFOLK and some SUFFOLK PARISH RECORDS" held at NORWICH and as such contain a number of SUFFOLK parish records.
Local Record Office
The local record office is at Lowestoft (Pakefield is a suburb of Lowestoft) and this holds parish records, transcribed and indexed, In addition it holds a unique collection of Fishing records (Crew Contracts) plus an excellent range of photographs of fishing boats etc. The staff are experts on Lowestoft and Pakefield and are always helpful, often being able to recommend an additional source of research. Practical resources include an in house cafe plus adjacent or rooftop parking. A visit is recommended as there is so much information, mainly available on a self service basis, from shelves and filing cabinets, which includes local parish records, census and newspapers. For more recent research try the extensive range of Kelly's street directories.
For location see
For services available see
There are census records available for Pakefield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Pakefield Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
The following link is to the Norfolk Parish LDS FamilySearch records, which include some suffolk ones
The following link is to a web site set up by David Mantripp (1950-2003)
which includes an extensive treasure trove of useful and interesting information and pictures on Pakefield people, buildings and records (church and civil) of value and interest to anyone having ancestors from Pakefield, Thank you David !
The following link provides pictures of the Pakefield World War One memorial, together with a list of those named on it
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2014, at 01:32.
- This page has been accessed 631 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More