Pakistan GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pakistan)

Asia Gotoarrow.png Pakistan

Guide to Pakistan Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events

Other Heading
  • (bullet)

Tomb Jinnah.jpg

Flag of Pakistan
Emblem of Pakistan
Location of Pakistan in SE Asia


Officially known as the ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN, Pakistan is located on the Indian sub-continent. It is a sovereign country with a population exceeding 180 million people, it is the sixth most populous country and with an area covering 796,095 km2 (307,374 sq mi), it is the 36th largest country in the world in terms of area.

Pakistan has a 1,046-kilometre (650 mi) coastline along the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Oman in the south and is bordered by India to the east, Afghanistan to the west, Iran to the southwest and China to the far northeast


Some of the earliest ancient human civilizations in South Asia originated from areas encompassing present-day Pakistan.

The Indus region, which covers most of Pakistan, was the site of several successive ancient cultures including the Neolithic Mehrgarh and the Bronze Age Indus Valley CiviliZation (2800–1800 BCE) at Harappa and Mohenjo-Daro.

By the early 18th century, the increasing European influence caused to slowly disintegrate the local empires with the lines between commercial and political dominance being increasingly blurred.

During this time, the English East India Company, had established coastal outposts. Control over the seas due to England's increasingly powerful navy, greater resources, technology, and military force projection by East India Company of British Empire led it to increasingly flex its military muscle; a factor that was crucial in allowing the Company to gain control over subcontinent by 1765 and sidelining the European competitors.

After the cessation of WWII, Great Britain announced the intentions to end its raj in India in 1946–47. As the United Kingdom agreed upon partitioning of India in 1947, the modern state of Pakistan was established on 14 August 1947. Initially it included Bangladesh, but the difficulties of governing 2 sections of the Indian sub-continent more than 1,000 miles apart, resulted in the establishment of Bangladesh after the Bangladesh Liberation War of 1971.


The Vedic Civilization (1500–500 BCE), characterized by Indo-Aryan culture, laid the foundations of Hinduism, which would become well established in the region. Multan was an important Hindu pilgrimage center.

The Medieval period (642–1219 CE) is defined by the spread of Islam in the region. During this period, Sufi missionaries played a pivotal role in converting a majority of the regional Buddhist and Hindu population to Islam. Today, more than 90% of Pakistan's population are Muslim.


Pakistan was widely expected to become one of the more robust emerging economies of the world. However, after decades of social instability, as of 2013, serious deficiencies in macro-management and unbalanced macroeconomics in basic services such as train transportation and electrical energy generation had developed. This has severely limited progress.

With the inherent instability of the country due to its proximity to Afghanistan, and the ongoing terrorism in the region, an increase in output, economic growth, can only occur because of an increase in the capital stock, a larger population, or technological advancements that lead to higher productivity. This is not likely, as very few external capital sources are being considered.


At present all Birth, Marriage, and Death records in Pakistan are held in local registries. There is no central national registry. The following links provides some helpful sources:

Pakistan Civil Registration Vital Records

Pakistan Church Records

BBC Pakistan family research


Kindred trails for Pakistan

Find a grave in Pakistan


(Add text and/or an image here)

Featured Content

(Add text and/or an image here)

Research Tools

Did you know?

  • Pakistan is the sixth most populous country in the world and is the second most populous country with a Muslim majority. Its territory was a part of the pre-partitioned British India and has a long history of settlement and civilization including the Indus Valley Civilization. Most of its current territory was conquered in the 1st millennium BCE by Persians and Greeks and ruled by them for a few centuries. For the rest of history the region was part of a various local and Central Asian dynasties. Later arrivals and conquests include those by the Arabs, Afghans, Turks, Baloch and Mongols.

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:40.
  • This page has been accessed 6,550 times.