Park County, Wyoming GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Park County, Wyoming ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Park County, Wyoming|
Location in the state of Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
|Founded||February 15, 1909|
|Address|| Park County Courthouse|
1002 Sheridan Avenue
PO Box 160
Cody, WY 82414
Park County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 15 February 1909 from Big Horn
- County seat:Cody 
- Neighboring Counties: Big Horn | Carbon County, Montana | Fremont | Gallatin County, Montana | Hot Springs | Park County, Montana | Teton | Washakie
For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For tips on accessing Park County, Wyoming Genealogy census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.
LDS ward and branches
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Park County, Wyoming Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Park County, Wyoming Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1911.
Court Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.
See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.
- Western States Marriage Index over 694 marriages 1 Jan 1900 to 7 Jul 1926
- Park County, WY History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wyoming Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wyoming Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- County Webpage
- County Clerk
- Lookups (GenWeb)
- FamilySearch Catalog
|Badger Basin||Canyon Village||Garland||Powell||Tower Junction|
|Buffalo Ford||Cody||Meeteetse||Soda Butte (hist.)||Wapiti|
|Canyon Junction||Devils Den||Pahaska Tepee||Sunshine|
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Park County, Wyoming
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 02:12.
- This page has been accessed 9,062 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News