Pell Street, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Contents

Parish History

St Matthew Pell Street was a mission church purchased in 1847. Originally, it was known as the "New Mulberry Garden Chapel...built for the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion in 1805... They left the area in the 1840s, and the building stood empty for a time. Although it was very close to the parish church, it was bought in 1847 by the London Diocesan Church Building Society for £1,300 and initially opened as a mission chapel. Bryan King, the Rector, raised some concerns over creating a new district, but gave his consent. Ewan Christian, architect to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, surveyed the building and insisted that it must be repaired and refurnished before it was fit for purpose. This was done, at a cost of £400 (provided by Mr Coope of Brentwood), and it was consecrated on 4 November 1859, with 650 sittings, and assigned a district by Order in Council on 7 March 1860, with the Bishop of London as patron.[1]

Additional information:

St Matthew eventually was united to that of the ancient parish of St. George in the East (1729) and St George in the East w/ St Matthew Pell Street, and lay within its civil boundaries.

Online here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. St Matthew Pelll Street, Adapted. Date accessed: 07 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 03:39.
  • This page has been accessed 770 times.