Pembrey, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngPembrey

A guide to genealogy in Pembrey, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Pembrey (Welsh: Pen Bre) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.



PEN-BREY, otherwise PEMBREY (PEN-BRE), a parish in the hundred of KIDWELLY, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (S.S.E.) from Kidwelly. The name of this place, signifying literally the head of a hill or promontory, is derived from its situation at the extremity of a mountainous ridge, beyond which a low promontory extends into the bay of Carmarthen. The substrata abound with mineral wealth, this district being thought to be the richest in South Wales in both bituminous and hard coal, both being worked to a very great extent. The quality of the soft coal is peculiarly adapted to the production of gas, the working of iron, and other manufacturing purposes; and vast quantities of both sorts are exported to various parts of the kingdom. A capacious harbour was constructed in 1819. This part of the coast is of difficult navigation, and to sailors unacquainted of it the most fatal on the shores of the Bristol Channel. The church, dedicated to St. Illtyd, is a spacious and handsome edifice in the later English style. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, Calvinistic Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

For more information on Pembrey see Pembrey at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464306.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 799 times.